This recipe is a bit confusing.  It was originally just “Melon Jam” but Grandma added ginger and gave it a tick of approval.  The original recipe was written in ink, Grandma’s tick and additional notes in pencil.  She doesn’t give any details about the ginger except for the quantity, and the number of lemons is not noted.  However, in my own experience of jam making, the lemon is there principally for its pectin, although I also like the way that it takes the edge off all that sugar, and makes jams a bit more tangy.  I use only the juice – one lemon for one pound of fruit.  However, Grandma seems to use the whole fruit.  I’ll try to sort it out as I go along.  It has already taken me about ten minutes to figure out the word “strew”, which basically just means “throw”, with a touch of “scatter” (or vice versa).

2 ozs green ginger to 12 lbs melon.  3/4 lb sugar to the pound.  Add lemons as well. [?]  [I suggest that we go with one lemon to the pound, but feel free to experiment.]

Cut melon [and ginger?] and strew about 3 cups of sugar over it.  Leave it over night.

Cut lemons and boil separately.

Boil melon [and ginger?] until nearly all liquid has gone, then add the sugar [and lemons?] and boil about an hour.

That’s it.  I don’t know why the lemons have to be boiled separately.  Possibly something to do with the pectin.  Grandma doesn’t say so, but obviously, the jam has to be bottled and stored in a cool, dark place.  Why don’t modern houses have cellars?